A Soldier’s Christmas Carol


chrismas sold

A Soldier’s Christmas Carol

It’s Christmas day

There’s an Afghan desert between me and you

On my own reading Christmas cards opening your presents to me

I am hanging around with nothing much to do

In my arms I hold a gun

How I wish these arms were cuddling my daughter and my son

We could go and see Santa Claus

Instead I find myself blowing everything up and kicking down doors

This is the season of good will

Today its be killed or kill

Right now I want to be with my own family

Having a drink and sitting around the Christmas tree

I fight so other men’s families

I don’t know will someday be free

In my arms I hold a gun

How I wish these arms were cuddling my daughter and my son

We could go and see Santa Claus

Instead I find myself blowing everything up and kicking down doors

I like to see my wife and children’s faces on this Christmas day

Opening presents watching the kids play

Dear God just keep me safe I pray

Looking across the desert tonight

All I want right now is so far away

DSL

About darkersideoflight

Hi welcome to my world, I just noticed i have been writing here since 2011. You probably stumbled across me one way or another. I have been writing since the age of sixteen and soon I will be 49. I call my words poetry but i see the words as potential lyric to a song and one day when I have the time and money this is a road i will follow but till then I will be here. Please feel free to contact me if you are a musician or a band looking for a song writer and you feel you could work with me thank you and have good time where ever you may be.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Soldier’s Christmas Carol

  1. Inspiring and heartfelt thought.May every soldier returns home safe.Best regards.jalal

  2. its so tough to fight for others! mostly its a thankless job. amazing poem and photograph- both touch the heart very deeply!

    I will ditto to Jalal- May there be no more loss of life in name of human conflict!

    • I was a reservist 20 odd years ago and i am sure the soldiers know they have a job to do and take great pride in what they do, naturally they miss their loved ones and now as the troop start to pull out of Afghanistan loss of life now will be more painful than ever.

  3. Gretiana says:

    God bless our soldiers!

Leave a Reply

