Liverpool Street


box

 

 

Liverpool Street

 

I have been reading the blog Gotta find a home here on WordPress, some amazing stories about the homeless so when it came to this week’s poem I decided to publish here an old poem I first wrote about 10 years ago slightly tweaked but more and  less the original poem when working up in London as a salesman in reprographics (Large digital printing posters and exhibition graphics) this meant long hours and busting a gut to hit target. I got to see a lot of homeless up town some kept themselves to themselves others were in your face (some were professional beggars part of a huge gang with a boss not very pleasant people to come across) I was accosted many a time by beggars/homeless late at night and on one occasion I did crack  at one beggar, I was tiered and stressed and this guy  just walked up to me and put his hand out he was no stranger to us commuters heading out of Liverpool street at that time of night hence the poem Liverpool street. I also remember a talk from the head of the London city mission and his story about the homeless in London it was fascinating to learn that these people came from all sorts of back grounds from professional to runaways, mental illness and even foreign tourist that had rack up huge debts and were too frighten to return home to face the music so they headed for the streets. Now the advice from the London City Mission was at the time please DON’T give them a penny this will only be spent on drugs or alcohol which does kind of make sense, then one day my wife said to me does it matter a gift is a gift if your intention are true what that person does with that gift is up to them, you cannot be held responsible…….

 

Liverpool Street

 

I am a dirty old box here in Liverpool Street

I am here in your way

I am under your feet

All I know is Liverpool Street

 

This dirty old box goes to the theatre

Never passing the door

Drunks take turns to piss over me

Leaving a puke breakfast for the morning on the floor

 

This dirty old box

Beaten, ignored, annoying

Hunger

Drugs

Rent boy

Prostitution

You will find this all in one dirty old box

 

This box just wants a pound

A pound for a cuppa mate

I once told a box to get a job

I was stressed, tiered working hard

This box had white bulging blood shot eyes

Greasy bruised hands

Job mate na it’s too late

Then gets some help

Help!! He yelped

Just a pound mate

Give us a pound

Just a pound

 

DSL

 

 

 

 

About darkersideoflight

Hi welcome to my world, I just noticed i have been writing here since 2011. You probably stumbled across me one way or another. I have been writing since the age of sixteen and soon I will be 49. I call my words poetry but i see the words as potential lyric to a song and one day when I have the time and money this is a road i will follow but till then I will be here. Please feel free to contact me if you are a musician or a band looking for a song writer and you feel you could work with me thank you and have good time where ever you may be.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Liverpool Street

  1. tersiaburger says:

    How poignantly beautiful!

Leave a Reply

